Friday, April 17, 2009

BLOG TOUR: Say the Word by Jeannine Garsee

Amazon.com:

Dredging up the past can knock the present right off balance.

The world expects perfection from seventeen-year-old Shawna Gallagher, and for the most part, that’s what they get. She dates the right boys, gets good grades, and follows her father’s every rule. But when her estranged lesbian mother dies, it’s more than perfect Shawna can take. Suddenly, anger from being abandoned ten years ago is resurfacing along with Shawna’s embarrassment over her mother’s other family. As she confronts family secrets and questions from the past, Shawna realizes there’s a difference between doing the perfect thing and doing the right thing. Shawna’s honest and relatable voice will draw readers in and hold them until the last page in this coming-of-age story. Jeannine Garsee has delivered a compulsively readable second novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Laurie Halse Anderson.

Wow, there is sure a lot packed into this book, it was emotional, powerful, and definitely original. And I think for the most part it works really well! Shawna's journey spans everything from what it means to be family, sexuality, friendship, and love, it goes everywhere. I was compulsively turning the pages of Say the Word, I had to know where it was going and had to know that everyone was going to come out of this situation ok. It was definitely stressful at times to read, especially any scene that involved Shawna's father. A few of the plot twists I could see from miles away but there were others that I was clueless as to where they would go and also a few that were so small I could have done without them. I really admire how much the author takes on in just one book!

I really liked the use of Perfect Shawna, Pathetic Shawna, and Evil Shawna, they all took turns coming out to play. I felt like by the end of the story Shawna was just Shawna, she found a common ground for all the versions of herself. I will admit, the ending had me a little teary eyed, it made me sad but it was an ok sad I think! All in all a powerful book that explores tons of issues a teen can face (and maybe some they won't) in a way that blends them together into a beautiful story.

Say the Word was released on March 17th.

4.5/5 Stars
Can't remember where I got this book

15 comments:

  1. Another one to add to my list. You're always doing this to me..

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oooh...evil Shawna!

    ReplyDelete
  3. phenomenal review, Alea! yeah! please remember that there is a chat tonight at 8.30 edt

    You can find all the info on my blog!

    Thank you so much, Alea!

    Laura

    ReplyDelete
  4. Definitely a good read. And didn't you just want to pummel Shawna's father whenever he started talking? I couldn't believe someone like him could exist!! Grrr.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Great review! Sounds like another one for the wish list.

    ReplyDelete
  6. You've made me want to read this one.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Thank you, Alea, for the review!

    Jeannine

    ReplyDelete
  8. Sounds like a good book Alea. I am adding it to my to buy list.

    ReplyDelete
  9. great review! I really want to read this one.

    ReplyDelete
  10. This sounds really good! And yes, looks REALLY packed with plot-lines!

    ReplyDelete
  11. I finished this last night, it was AMAZING. I loved it! I ended up staying up just to read it.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Been hearing some mixed review on this one, but you make it sounds fabulous. :D

    ReplyDelete
  13. Ooh! Sounds like a good one. Great find!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Great review! I'm adding this to my TBR list now.

    ReplyDelete
  15. I hope everyone enjoys the book!

    Jeannine- You are very welcome!

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...