Wednesday, August 12, 2009

"Waiting On" Wednesday! 43

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

From Publisher:

A vibrant and deeply romantic debut.

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center sate of her own life-and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they're the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, and the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can't collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie's struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

Released March 9th 2010

Oooh sounds like a mixture of a lot of things here. Love, loss, coming out of one's shell. I definitely think I will like this!

What can't you wait for to be released?

"Waiting On" Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine!


  1. This book looks interesting. I really like the cover.

  2. I've been seeing this one on Goodreads recently, but this is the first time I've seen the cover. It looks very nice!

  3. Ohh-this one does look good! In some ways it reminds me of Saving Zoe by Alyson Noel I think, which is good because I loved that book!

  4. I love books with band geeks, so this one sounds good to me too!

  5. Ohh sounds awesome, band geek plus bookworm with a french boy??? I like it. :)

  6. This definitely sounds good! First time I saw this, I'll have to add it to my never-ending TBR list!

  7. This does remind me of Deb Caletti's Wild Roses, which I was not a big fan of. But I still am adding this to my TBR pile... it may be amazing!

  8. I wonder if Lennie is short for Lenore?

  9. Ooh! That sounds great! My WoW is Another Faust.



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...