Friday, June 29, 2012

Lookalikes 169

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks wins, because look at that doggie!!!!!!
 
Thanks to Audrey who suggested this lookalike! 
 
Have you spotted a Lookalike you would like to contribute? Send me an email!

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Hardcover vs Paperback 155


Lennie plays second clarinet in the school orchestra and has always happily been second fiddle to her charismatic older sister, Bailey. Then Bailey dies suddenly, and Lennie is left at sea without her anchor. Overcome by emotion, Lennie soon finds herself torn between two boys: Bailey's boyfriend, Toby, and Joe, the charming and musically gifted new boy in town. While Toby can't see her without seeing Bailey and Joe sees her only for herself, each offers Lennie something she desperately needs. But ultimately, it's up to Lennie to find her own way toward what she really needs-without Bailey. A remarkable debut novel perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block.
 
I really like the symbolism in the paperback so for me it's more meaningful (and it's also really pretty who doesn't love some good foliage!) I will say I like the typography on the hardcover though and the color palette.
 
Thanks to Gabrielle who suggested this H vs P!
 
Have you spotted a Hardcover vs. Paperback you would like to contribute? Send me an email!
 

Friday, June 22, 2012

Lookalikes 168

I think Possessions achieves a better layout in this very similar layout smackdown. In Possession there is motion (the hair) and dimension (face slightly turned) also there is some visual hierarchy with the girl taking center stage (instead of the house). While the covers are very similar the things I just listed are lacking in Deception.
 
Thanks to Gail who suggested this lookalike! 
 
Have you spotted a Lookalike you would like to contribute? Send me an email!

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Hardcover vs Paperback 154


The It Girl meets The Exorcist in this chilling, haunted boarding school tale. New-girl Lindsay discovers all is not right at the prestigious Marlwood Academy for Girls. Ethereal, popular Mandy and her clique are plotting something dangerous. Lindsay overhears them performing strange rituals, and sees their eyes turn black. It doesn’t help that the school itself is totally eerie, with ancient, dilapidated buildings tucked into the Northern California woods, a thick white fog swirling through campus. There are hidden passageways, odd reflections in the windows at night, and scariest of all is the vast lake rumored to have captured the ghost of a girl who drowned many years ago.
What Lindsay doesn’t yet realize is that Mandy and her cohorts are becoming possessed by spirits who have haunted the school for two hundred years. Spirits who want someone dead...
And that someone is Lindsay.

You can definitely tell that the publisher is approaching this book cover from two very very different directions. The original paperback, that one caught my attention, in that initial tagline I gravitated more towards the It Girl instead of The Exorcist, I thought it might be kind of a fun and scary read. Whereas the second paperback, damn that one is scary! Looks like something out of the movie The Ring (which I refused to see) and that definitely would have made me steer clear of this book if that had been the cover when I bought it. I haven't read it so I can't say which cover fits it better, can anyone weigh in?

 
Have you spotted a Hardcover vs. Paperback you would like to contribute? Send me an email!

Sunday, June 17, 2012

This Week In Books



1.The Legacy of Tril: Soulbound by Heather Brewer (Review)
2. The One That I Want by Jennifer Echols (Amazon)
3. Stunning by Sara Shepard (Amazon)

Friday, June 15, 2012

Lookalikes 167


 
While these aren't exactly the same they have a lot in common (little girl feet, skirts, outside setting etc). I prefer The Time Traveler's Wife because while there is more going on in the picture there is less going on in the title and it just flows better for me, plus love that aqua color!
 
Thanks to Yan who suggested this lookalike! 
 
Have you spotted a Lookalike you would like to contribute? Send me an email!

Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Hardcover vs Paperback 153



When Brooke discovers that the love of her life, Scott Abrams, is moving from their New Jersey suburb to New York City for senior year, she decides to follow him there. Living with her estranged father and adjusting to a whole new school are challenging--and things get even worse when she finds out that Scott already has a girlfriend. But as she learns to navigate the big city, she starts to discover a whole new side of herself, and realizes that sometimes love can find you even when you're not looking for it.
 
A book I've read, yay!  When I saw the paperback for this one I was so happy, the hardcover always looked a little 80s to me because of what the girl was wearing on the cover. And the pose on the paperback is so much cuter, with the umbrella, aww! And for some reason I remember the boy on the hardcover having the wrong hair color (does that ring a bell for anyone?)

Have you spotted a Hardcover vs. Paperback you would like to contribute? Send me an email!

Friday, June 08, 2012

Lookalikes 166

For not being the same image these are very very similar! I do like how both bring some green foliage into the mix to counteract all the darkness in the trees. Am I the only one that has no interest in seeing Snow White and the Huntsman?
 
Thanks to Elizabeth who suggested this lookalike! 
 
Have you spotted a Lookalike you would like to contribute? Send me an email!

Tuesday, June 05, 2012

Hardcover vs Paperback 152


Bras & Broomsticks and Frogs & French Kisses now available in one volume!

What if all your wishes could come true?

In Bras & Bromsticks, fourteen-year-old Rachel learns the outrageously unfair fact that yes, magic exists, but she's not the one who's a witch: Miri, her younger sister, is!

The magic continues in Frogs & French Kisses when the teeny-tiny love spell Rachel talks Miri into casting goes horribly wrong. Now the fate of their family, the world, and senior prom is in Rachel's hands. . . .

I always thought the covers for this series were bright and cute! But when I saw the new 2 in 1 cover it totally out shined the original covers. Definitely gives the covers a more contemporary and maybe slightly older appeal!

Have you spotted a Hardcover vs. Paperback you would like to contribute? Send me an email!

Sunday, June 03, 2012

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...